Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist was today named Norway’s Chair of the Year 2014 for her role and efforts as chairwoman of the board of Kongsberg Automotive ASA for the past five years.

The prestigious award recognizes Chairpersons from Nordic companies with good financial results, good leadership of the board, strong business ethics and an environmental profile.

From right: Members of the jury Kathrine Aspaas, Kjetil Hardeng, Olav H Selvaag, winner 2014 Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist, winner 15 years ago  Svein S Jacobsen, Siri Hatlen, jury leader Gunnar Eckbo (not present: Erik Thorsen CoY 2013, Kristin Krohn Devold & Anders Misund)

Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist is a graduate in Master of Science in Engineering Physics, has 35 years of experience in the automotive industry and 22 years experience of board work in private, public and governmental corporations, foundations and non-profit organizations. She joined the board of Kongsberg Automotive ASA in 2007 and was elected Chairwoman in 2010.

“Ulla-Britt is an accomplished Chairwoman with broad experience, deep market insight and a good strategic outlook. Her inclusive, open and solution-oriented approach ensures that shareholder and company's interests are represented and maintained in an excellent manner. Ulla-Britt has helped to take bold and correct steps that have strengthened Kongsberg Automotive through a challenging period. The company has had a positive development and is now in a better position to meet future challenges, said Hans Peter Havdal,” CEO Kongsberg Automotive.

Maintaining order and focus in a tough industry

According to the Jury of the Chair of the Year prize for 2014, Ulla-Britt maintains good order, demonstrates good business strategic understanding, is creative and always tries to help with ideas. The chairwoman can be determined and resolute, but at the same time listening and humble. She knows the vehicle industry well and looks for opportunities in new trends and challenges. She always has the best interests of the company in mind and knows what it takes to achieve success.

“This award is a great recognition of the good work we are doing at Kongsberg Automotive”, said Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist. ”I am both proud and delighted to receive this award for KA and it inspires us to continue our efforts ahead. We can never take anything for granted in the automotive industry. Competition is fierce and we are working diligently to continuously improve”.

Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist noted that Kongsberg Automotive is a dynamic company which through a distinct corporate culture and over 50 years of experience has evolved from a small Scandinavian producer to become a global provider of world-class products to the automotive industry.

The prize is a sculpture by Marian Heyerdahl and was awarded in connection with the annual Chair of the Year event in Oslo on 15 January.KA Pressemelding Årets Styreleder 2014 NO

This year’s Chair of the Year jury comprised: